FREE until Tuesday. ‘Hello World: Travels in Virtuality’ then new low price.

Sue Thomas
2 min readJan 5, 2024

I’m celebrating two decades of publication by offering the Kindle edition of my travel/memoir of cyberspace ‘Hello World: travels in virtuality’ for free until Tuesday, January 9th, 2024. Click here to buy it for nothing!

I want to make sure everyone has the chance to familiarise themselves with this slice of internet history, but Amazon won’t let me price it at zero. So after the free offer finishes the price will be set as low as possible: £0.77 / $0.99 / €0.89

‘Hello World: travels in virtuality‘ is the story of my life online in the late 1990s and early 2000s. It’s both a travelogue and a personal memoir, drawing on my online travels as well as physical journeys in the USA, Australia, Spain and England.

Hello World was published by Raw Nerve Books in 2004. It was edited by Ann Kaloski and designed by Hilary Kay Doran, and it describes what it was like to live in the text-based anarchic virtual world of LambdaMOO, where all you had was text.

Historical context: Facebook launched the previous month and YouTube appeared a year later. Every internet user will recognise…

--

--

Sue Thomas

I write about life, nature and technology. Seeking a publisher for my third novel 'The Fault in Reality. www.suethomas.net. Threads: @suethomas_bournemouth